Skip to content

Ten Reasons You Should Do NanoWrimo

October 22, 2012

First of all, welcome to the land of Nanowrimo, or National Novel Writing Month.  If you’re not familiar with the term or the event, edumacate yourself HERE, because the folks there are amazing and I hope to someday eat pie with them.  If that site is tl:dr, then the long of short of it is that in November, a whole bunch of people decide to write 50,000 words all in 30 days of madness.  It may be crazy but, as Martha says, “it’s a good thing.”

Next, I am a seven year Nanowrimo winner, and soon I hope to be an eight-year alum.  And I am here to tell you why you should do Nanowrimo this year.

#10 Nano teaches you things.

This is the most obvious.  Nanowrimo requires dedication, perserverence, endurance, a smidgen of talent, and most of all, pure unadulterated creativity.  It’s difficult, and you’ll come out with a possible caffinne addiction and maaaaybe slightly glowing from the lack of showers, but it’s worth it!

Mm, slimy yet satisfying.

#9 It’s social!

The very first Nanowrimo was a bunch of friends getting together a few nights a week to write in authorial camaraderie.  Writing is generally a very lonely addic-I mean, habit.  You put on your headphones and who wants to hear about your characters latest exploits?  If you’re lucky, your significant other.  Nanowrimo kind of throws that out the window.  You need a support group for this kind of crazy, and through forums and Municipal Liasons, Nanowrimo provides one.

#8 It will stretch your creative muscles.

You could put this into #10 if you really wanted to, but I think this is a different idea.  You see, to put down so many words and concepts in so short a time requires a level of creativity that’s kind of hyperactive.  Loopholes are exploited, plot holes flagrantly made and ignored because “that’s what editing is for”.  You really start to reach to the edge of your possibilities, because 50,000 words can be a bit longer than you think.

Yeah…this is about right.

#7 It increases adaptability.

Before I learned to Nano, writing was a single thing, which came with the muses and didn’t stay if there was anyone else in the room with me, or the music wasn’t just right, or so on and so forth.  After seven years of Nano, I can honestly say that if I must, I can nano in a crowded bar with yodeling in the background.  (Can you Nano in a box?  Can you Nano with a Fox?)

#6 It establishes a routine.

My favorite part of Nano time is that I get into a really great groove.  I go to work.  I finish work.  I go to my place of nanoing glory, I sit, I open my computer, I pound out my words, I close my computer, I go home.  Rinse, repeat.  This might sound boring, but it also trains you to write.  Every day.  No exceptions.  Because you get to be aware that if you don’t write every day you will fall behind, and catching up is hellish.

I’ll be back later with more reasons to join Nanowrimo this year!

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. harlotte permalink

    A little abrupt of an ending (forgive me if you intend to finish this later tonight or the like, otherwise I want to know when so I can check back!) but I love your reasons for participating thus far. #8 had me laughing out loud which had my significant other asking what I was doing. “Something funny about NaNo, honey.” (Nope, not one of those “lucky” ones with a writer sig/other.. thank heavens). And we have quite the similar process for outlining, only mine includes the incovenience of a canine usually. I’m assuming you’ll be posting your NaNo profile link but here is mine just in case ;)

    http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/harlotte

    ~Harlotte@shamedless.wordpress.com

    • Oh dear! I believe that you actually found your way to the wrong blog – as this posted accidentally onto the wordpress.com site rather than our own site… I’ll be continuing on http://www.kaitlinandmichaelbranch.com on Wednesday or so – Tuesday is my husband’s gig, Tidbit Tuesday, which he is MUCH better at maintaining than my rather scattered essays. Thank you for stopping by, really – and I have a canine inovlved as well. My nano name is Zurizip, so if you’ve a mind you can find me there.

  2. harlotte permalink

    I’ll check back for the rest on Wednesday then. And glad to hear you have a canine as well :) Dog people are my kind of people!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

